The Cupcake Escapade 

Not in a million years I thought I would ever say this but here it is: I actually enjoyed making cupcakes with my daughter. Not a really hard thing you would think to honestly admit but yes I did.  You see, every time I pull out the mix and spoons would I dread making cupcakes. I knew what was in store: the horrendous hair pulls, the yelling at the top of the lungs, the endless fights and screams over who gets to lick the spoon.

You see, I have two kids and everything is competition.

I dreaded this moment for the past week since my two younglings began their pursuit to make cupcakes. From buying the ingredients at the store, bringing it home and hiding it somewhere in my cupboards; all in hope they would soon forget. Not so.

The pleas and them searching through my cupboards finally came to the moment of my daughter finding the ‘golden egg’.


Not that egg but it might as well have been to her by the way she acted.

Her moment of triumph was mine downfall from a relaxing and quiet night home on a cold winters’ day.

Here we go.

In one deep breathe and one small prayer we started.

I heated up the stove while my daughter blissfully mixed all the ingredients together. I swore she couldn’t get it together fast enough. She was like a rabbit.


Literally. Same look on her face saying “Let me at it”.

Once she was all through and the moment was over;  I quickly poured the mixture slowly in the first cupcake paper cup then the next. All the while I could see her bulging eyes watching and waiting. Hoping. Observing. Wondering.

I looked around for kid #2 and he was watching something on his IPad in the other room. I called to him and silence. Nothibg. No interest. No desire. He didn’t want to help. The mom in me had to offer while I bit my lip knowing what was coming next. But this time he was sure. “No momma”.

I relaxed. Relieved. It was over. I gave everything to my helpful daughter and she did the rest. From icing to decorating; she did an outstanding job.

They were actually good. The freshest I have ever ate.


Pink.

Just in time for anti-bullying day. Very thoughtful she is.

#humour #humor #satire #food #cupcake

 

Leave a comment